Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Awards Recipients

Australia Day 2022

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Sam Hicks
Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Riley Thomas
Murrindindi Senior Citizen of the Year Margaret Hale

Australia Day 2021

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Elise Anderson
Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Nicholas Charles
Murrindindi Senior Citizen of the Year John Stewart

Australia Day 2020

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Senior Citizen of the Year

Sasha Barrow

Logan McKimmie

Sydney Savage

Australia Day 2019

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Matthew Noonan Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Tamara Wilson Murrindindi Senior Citizen of the Year Pam Petersen

Australia Day 2018

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Fern Hames
Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Kate Chalmers
Murrindindi Senior Citizen of the Year Pamela Lawless
Wayne Miller

Australia Day 2017

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year
Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year
Murrindindi Community Event of the Year
Marysville Jazz
Ray Steyger, Alexandra
Melissa Peart, Marysville
Marysville Jazz

Australia Day 2016

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

Marysville Jazz and Blues Weekend

Australia Day 2015

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Stephen Joblin, Flowerdale Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Michelle Willans, Narbethong Murrindindi Community Event of the Year The 100th Yea Show

Australia Day 2014

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year
Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year
Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

Rosemary Chester, Alexandra
Timothy Shaw, Gobur
Eildon Lions Easter Market

Australia Day 2013

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Steve Meacher, Toolangi
Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Natasha Beggs, Eildon
Murrindindi Community Event of the Year Alexandra District Open Gardens

Australia Day 2012

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

Marysville Sparkling Wine Festival

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Awards Recipients

Australia Day 2011

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

Australia Day 2010

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

Australia Day 2009

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

Australia Day 2008

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

Australia Day 2007

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

Australia Day 2006

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year

Cathedral Riding Citizen of the Year

Cheviot Riding Citizen of the Year Dennis Riding Citizen of the Year

King Parrot Riding Citizen of the Year

Redgate Riding Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Murrindindi Major Community Event of the Year

Murrindindi Minor Community Event of the Year

Australia Day 2005

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

Australia Day 2004

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

Australia Day 2003

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

Australia Day 2002

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year

Murrindindi Community Event of the Year

Valerie Borrie, Yea

Danielle Shaw, Gobur (presented in

Alexandra)

Red Wristband Ball, Kinglake

David Hall, Alexandra Jarryd Biffin, Alexandra

Toolangi & Castella Bushfire Garden

Restoration, Kinglake

Ronald Drysdale, Yea

Kathryn Buckland and Rhiannon Aldous, Yea

Toolangi Festival

Joan Coller, Alexandra Sarah Garlick, Yea

Molesworth Easter Bazaar

Rex Tate

Bandemonium

Back to Wall, Eildon Action

Jean Laws

Tom Maunsell (Posthumous

Award – to be collected by Tom's wife Mrs

Helen Maunsell)

Christine (Tina) Gorman

Bruce Stonehouse

Donald McQueen

Maurie Pawsey

Patrick Borg

Hoof Over Hills 2005

Bush Kids Music Festival 2005

William and Valerie Wilson

Andrew Belsten

Alexandra Traders & Tourism Association –

Alexandra Truck, Ute & Rod Show 2004

Jim Sherlock

Jason Cromarty

Flowerdale Primary School Hoof Over Hills

2003

David Fitzrov

Rotary Club of Alexandra - 2002 Easter Art

Show

Elaine White

Kate Goschnick

Alexandra Truck, Ute & Rod Show 2001

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Awards Recipients

Australia Day 2001

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Peter Weeks

Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Tessa Abbottsmith Youl

Murrindindi Community Event of the Year Opening of the Rotary Club of Alexandra

Time Capsule from 1975

Australia Day 2000

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Alan Worrall Jones Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Kim Campbell

Murrindindi Community Event of the Year Alexandra Truck, Ute & Bus Show 1999

Australia Day 1999

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Cheryl O'Halloran Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Matthew Bibby

Murrindindi Community Event of the Year Lions Club of Eildon - Eildon Christmas Eve

Party

Australia Day 1998

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Lorna Warne Murrindindi Young Citizen of the Year Susan Milroy

Australia Day 1997

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Richard (Dick) and Margaret McKernan

Australia Day 1996

Murrindindi Citizen of the Year Donald McLeish

Australia Day 1995

Yea recipient Margaret Mahon

Alexandra recipients Hilda Williamson (senior award) and

Anthony Collis (junior award)

Council amalgamations took place in November 1994 and prior to that date it is understood that the Australia Day Awards were co-ordinated by the Shire of Yea for the Yea district and the Alexandra Apex Club for the Alexandra district.

From old Shire of Yea files it has been identified that Award recipients were as follows:

1994	Mr John Aldous and Ms Deidre Hawkins
1993	Fr. Terry Pidoto
1992	Mr Alexander Dougal Drysdale
1991	Mrs Jan Joyce
1990	Mr Arthur Lindsay Bassett and Ms Margaret Jean Wawn
1989	Mr Craig Leslie Walker (Young Citizen), Mr Colin Alexander Purvis and Mrs Joan
	Gwenneth Byrne
1988	unknown
1987	Mrs Mary Waters
1986	Kinglake Mountain Monthly
1985	Mr Colin Egan
1984	Mr Thomas Dignam
1983	unknown
1982	Mr Peter Mackay Lloyd
1981	Mrs Grace M. Bennetts

We do not hold Award information for the Shire of Alexandra prior to 1995.